This website uses cookies to track usage anonymously - so we can analyse traffic statistics & improve our website. Learn more or opt out >> Accept
 

Our History

In July 2009, The Harpur Trust announced its intention to merge Bedford High School for Girls with Dame Alice Harpur School to rationalise their provision of education in Bedford to one independent girls’ school, one boys’ school, one co-educational school and a pre-preparatory school. In November 2009, it was announced that the new merged girls' school would be called Bedford Girls' School, and would be located on the former site of Dame Alice Harpur School. The Junior School opened in September 2010, the Senior School followed in September 2011 and the full merger was completed with the Sixth Form in September 2012.

Our new beginnings as Bedford Girls’ School build firmly upon the rich heritage of Dame Alice Harpur School and Bedford High School for Girls. Both schools were founded in 1882 by the legacy of Sir William Harpur at a time when a formal education was reserved for boys. Each year our School community gathers on or near 4th May to celebrate the founding school birthdays and to remind ourselves of the generousity of Sir William Harpur and the opportunity it brought to the pioneering women who went before us.